President Muhammadu Buhari has finally nominated Prof. James Momoh for confirmation as the Chairman of the Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC).

The nominee, who is to be confirmed by the Senate, is a Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science; and the Director of Energy Services and Controls at Howard University, United States of America.

The Minister of Power, Works and Housing, Babatunde Fashola had in February, 2017 inaugurated six-member board of NERC nominated by President Muhammadu Buhari  in 2016 and cleared by the Senate to be commissioners.

The inauguration thus ended the board’s vacancy which existed for about 14 months as the tenure of the last board of commissioners for NERC led by Dr. Sam Amadi ended in December 22, 2015.

The new board include Sanusi Garba (Vice Chairman), Musiliu Oseni,Dafe Akpeneye, Okafor Nwoye, Nathan Shatti, and Moses Arigu.

Prof. Akintunde Akinwande, a professor in the Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) was nominated alongside the six by President Buhari to be chairman of the commission in 2016 but he allegedly rejected the offer.

A statement by Senior Special Assistant to the President (Media and Publicity), Garba Shehu, said President Buhari strongly believes that Prof Momoh has the technical knowledge, capacity and integrity to lead the Commission’s effort to bring about the much needed change in Nigeria’s power sector.

The latest nominee, Prof. Momoh, a Life Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and Fellow of the Nigeria Society of Engineers, has over three decades of teaching and research experience in power system, smart grid, optimisation and power communications.

The 1987 recipient of the National Science Foundation-US White House Presidential Young Investigator Award is a widely published scholar and has held several professional leadership positions in the academia.

Prof Momoh has a Doctorate degree in electrical engineering from Howard University; Master’s degrees in systems engineering from the University of Pennsylvania; and electrical engineering from Carnegie University.  He obtained his Bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering in 1975 from Howard University.