The Acting President, Yemi Osinbajo, has approved the appointment of Professor Godswill O. Obioma and 13 others as new Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The Senate had earlier in June, screened and confirmed 14 out of 27 RECs forwarded to it, indicating that the rest were still undergoing screening.

The Director of Press, Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (OSGF), Bolaji Adebiyi, disclosed the appointment by the Acting President in a statement.

While 13 of the new appointees were on their first term, Hussaini Pai of the Federal Capital Territory was reappointed, having concluded the first term of five years.

The new appointees are: Godswill Obioma (Abia), James Apam (Benue), Nwachukwu Orji (Ebonyi), Iloh Chuks (Enugu), Nentawe Yilwatda (Plateau), Umar Ibrahim (Taraba) and Emeka Joseph (Imo).

Others are Obo Effanga (Cross River), Francis Ezeounu (Anambra), Briyai Frankland (Bayelsa), Ibrahim Abdullahi (Adamawa), Agboke Olaleke (Ogun) and Ahmad Makama (Bauchi).

“These appointees have been confirmed by the Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and therefore, the appointments are with immediate effect,” Adebiyi said.

They have the same five-year renewable tenure with the Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission.