The Federal Government has released a State by State breakdown of another tranche of Paris Club refund totaling N243,795,465,195.20.

The refund is being made due to over-deductions on Paris Club, London Club Loans and Multilateral debts on the accounts of States and Local Governments between 1995-2002.

The Minister of Finance, Kemi Adeosun explianed that these payments which totalled N243, 795,465,195.20   were made   to the 36 States and the Federal Capital Territory upon the approval of the President on May 4, 2017, in partial settlement of long-standing claims by State Governments relating to over-deductions from their Federation Account Allocation Committee (FAAC) allocation for external debt service arising between 1995 and 2002.

Further, she said that these debt service deductions were in respect of the Paris Club, London Club and Multilateral debts of the federal government and States.

While Nigeria reached a final agreement for debt relief with the Paris Club in October 2005, some States had already been overcharged. 

She said the funds were released to State Governments as part of the wider efforts to stimulate the economy and were specifically designed to support states in meeting salary and other obligations, thereby alleviating the challenges faced by workers.

According to a statement by the Director of Information, Ministry of finance, Salisu Dambatta, the releases were conditional upon a minimum of 75 per cent being applied to the payment of workers’ salaries and pensions for States that owe salaries and pension.

Meanwhile, Federal Ministry of Finance is reviewing the impact of these releases on the level of arrears owed by State Governments.

Also, a detailed report is being compiled for presentation to the Acting President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo, as part of the process for approval for the release of any subsequent tranches.

The details of the state by state refund is  as contained in the table below:


1 ABIA 5,715,765,871.48

2 ADAMAWA 6,114,300,352.68

3 AKWA-IBOM 10,000,000,000.00

4 ANAMBRA 6,121,656,702.34

5 BAUCHI 6,877,776,561.25

6 BAYELSA 10,000,000,000.00

7 BENUE 6,854,671,749.25

8 BORNO 7,340,934,865.32

9 CROSS RIVER 6,075,343,946.93

10 DELTA 10,000,000,000.00

11 EBONYI 4,508,083,379.98

12 EDO 6,091,126,592.49

13 EKITI 4,772,836,647.08

14 ENUGU 5,361,789,409.66

15 GOMBE 4,472,877,698.19

16 IMO 7,000,805,182.97

17 JIGAWA 7,107,666,706.76

18 KADUNA 7,721,729,227.55

19 KANO 10,000,000,000.00

20 KATSINA 8,202,130,909.85

21 KEBBI 5,977,499,491.45

22 KOGI 6,027,727,595.80

23 KWARA 5,120,644,326.57

24 LAGOS 8,371,938,133.11

25 NASARAWA 4,551,049,171.12

26 NIGER 7,210,793,154.95

27 OGUN 5,739,374,694.46

28 ONDO 7,003,648,314.28

29 OSUN 6,314,106,340.62

30 OYO 7,901,609,864.25

31 PLATEAU 5,644,079,055.41

32 RIVERS 10,000,000,000.00

33 SOKOTO 6,441,128,546.76

34 TARABA 5,612,014,491.52

35 YOBE 5,413,103,116.59

36 ZAMFARA 5,442,385,594.49

37 FCT 684,867,500.04